Bucks County Underage Drinking Lawyer
Kids sometimes make mistakes, but there are still serious consequences for underage drinking in Pennsylvania. At the Bucks County law offices of Attorney Niels C. Eriksen, we protect the rights of minors who have been charged with underage drinking (6308 violations) in Pennsylvania, and more serious alcohol offenses in juvenile court. From possession and minor consumption charges to underage DUI, we are prepared to handle a wide range of offenses.
An Arrest Never Comes at a Convenient Time
Contact Attorney Niels C. Eriksen 24 Hours a Day
If you are under the age of 21, the possession, consumption, transportation, and manufacture of alcohol is illegal. This means that even if you did not drink anything, you can still be charged with an underage offense. The consequences for underage drinking (18 Pa.C.S.A. 6308A) violations are as follows:
- 1st offense: 90-day license suspension
- 2nd offense: 1 year license suspension
- 3rd offense: 2 year license suspension
These are the consequences for underage drinking, regardless of whether or not you were driving at the time of the offense.
Constructive Possession is a critical element in an Underage Drinking offense. Did you have knowledge and, more importantly, the ability to control the alcohol that you were charged with possessing? It is important to make sure you are not charged for the actions of others.
Some underage drinking cases involve teenagers who are driving or present in a vehicle, which means the first thing you have to look at is probable cause for a traffic stop. If you were in a car or at a party where people were drinking, the police cannot just charge you. They must have probable cause that you consumed or possessed alcohol. Underage DUI
Pennsylvania has a zero tolerance law when it comes to underage DUI. That means minors will be charged with drunk driving with a blood alcohol level of .02 or higher. If you are under 18, you will face charges in juvenile court. If you are an adult, but under 21, you will face separate and distinct penalties from an adult DUI, which take greatest affect in a longer license suspension.
Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor
Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor is a criminal offense with a mandatory $1,000 fine per offense, this applies to parents and other relatives, as well as strangers who are alleged to provide alcohol to minors under the age of 21. In some cases, providing alcohol to a minor could lead to corruption of a minor charges, or the endangering the welfare of a child. There are serious offenses which must be handled carefully.
Underage drinking can carry serious consequences and can impact everything in your life including your driver's license. From our offices in Bucks County, we can help you fight the charges and minimize the impact of a conviction. Open during weekly business hours, we offer evening and weekend appointments as well. Contact us today for a free initial consultation.